Day 1 – Machame gate (1811 m) to Machame Hut (3021 m).

Made it to the first camp! Today it is not much of an achievement but it feels nice to be able to cross it off the list.

DSC04264

I met with the chief guide at the hotel very early in the morning for briefing, since I knew most of the things I thought it would be quick but we still managed to talk about the mountain for more than an hour. After that I ate a huge breakfast and I was ready to go.

I knew from experience that the first part of the day is quite slow, first we drove for 40 minutes to the gate and then a lot of paperwork needs to be signed and filled. This can take hours and since patience is not my virtue and all I want is to start walking it can feel frustrating at how slow things move. But I managed to chat with one of the rangers and he explained that they are very through in how much weight each porter can carry (max. 20 kgs) and that now they have started checking their gear too, in order to make sure they have appropriate clothing. I thought it was a really good initiative.

After all was done we were ready to go. The first few steps feel so strange because you realize that now you are really starting something you have been looking forward for months and the moment is finally there. I began walking alone as my guide had to finalize some things and everything felt extremely daunting and scary, thinking about what I have ahead and what will happen. But I told myself to take it one moment at a time and really enjoy the experience.

The trail today is very easy, it is really steep for the most parts but is a very light trek, quite similar to what I am used to do in Sweden, except that this time the trail crosses an exotic rainforest with monkeys jumping above your head. We stopped for lunch around half way and it was a very nice and peaceful moment, the air felt so fresh, I could hear the sound of so many different wild animals that I really thought it was exciting to be back here once again.

When we got to the camp it started raining quite heavily, I felt relieved since I really do not like to walk in the rain and I thought it would be really cosy to listen to the rain inside the tent while I waited for the food. As I began eating I felt really scared about the whole thing and I realized how much respect I have now for the altitude compared to last time. Today I took it really easy when walking and all in all it was a very happy day.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

CONTINUE READING: Day 2 – Machame Hut (3021 m) to Shira Camp (3839 m)

Day 3: Shira Camp (3839 m) – Lava Tower (4627 m) – Barranco Huts (3986 m).

Day 4: Barranco Huts (3986m) to Karanga Camp (4034 m).

Day 5: Karanga Camp (4034 m) to Barafu Camp (4662 m).

Summit day: Barafu Camp (4662 m) – Uhuru Peak (5895 m) – Millenium Camp (3797 m).

5 comments

Leave a Reply

