Day 3: Shira Camp (3839 m) – Lava Tower (4627 m) – Barranco Huts (3986 m).

Mornings are like hell and today was not an exception. Here is where I started feeling sort of bad last time so I guess it brought me some bad memories. I am taking Diamox (something that is supposed to help acclimatize faster) and I really feel like I have been drinking tons of beers through the day. We started extremely slow, I was really out of breath and my pulse was sky high. Had it been easy to give up I would have done it right there.

While this suffering was going on, the trail got narrower and we got stuck behind a group who was even slower than me. I felt relieved. And then, the magic happened again. It was like hiking at home, no shortness of breath, the pulse got normal again and I could look around instead of looking at the ground. The views today were magnificent, as we walked to Lava Tower we could see the mountain, it was really impressive and the summit seemed so close. I thought I was lucky to be there and being able to experience all this beauty. You appreciate it even more when you know you have had to hike 2 days to get here.

Processed with VSCO with f2 presetProcessed with VSCO with f2 presetProcessed with VSCO with m5 presetProcessed with VSCO with f2 preset

Lava Tower is a really cool place, it is quite high so you can see both the mountain on one side and down the Barranco Valley on the other. The purpose of walking up there and then down again is for acclimatization.

We sat there for a while with my guide while we ate lunch and talked about random things, he is the same age as I am and it is interesting to see how different my life and his are. And once again I realized not about the importance of having material things but about having the opportunity and the choice to do pretty much whatever I want with my life. Something not everyone has.

The way down to the Barranco camp was extremely rainy. I have to be honest and admit that this was the first time I used my full rain gear, since in Sweden I normally avoid hiking in the rain (yes, I know…) and when I get caught on some rain it is not that heavy. But I had no alternative here than to keep going and at the end I concluded that I really liked it. The pace was slow, I wasn’t neither warm nor cold and it was such a cosy feeling. It was a nice reminder of why I like doing this.

IMG_2064

In the Barranco Camp things started going badly last time and I cannot help but keep thinking about it, as I ate dinner I really felt afraid, I don’t really know exactly about what. I haven’t had any real and serious sign of altitude sickness as of yet, something that makes me extremely thrilled, but I still keep wondering if it is going to come or if I am missing something. When everything goes well I seem to become suspicious.

IMG_2065IMG_2067IMG_2068

CONTINUE READING:  Day 3: Shira Camp (3839 m) – Lava Tower (4627 m) – Barranco Huts (3986 m).

Day 4: Barranco Huts (3986m) to Karanga Camp (4034 m).

Day 5: Karanga Camp (4034 m) to Barafu Camp (4662 m).

Summit day: Barafu Camp (4662 m) – Uhuru Peak (5895 m) – Millenium Camp (3797 m).

OR READ FROM THE BEGINNING:

Day 1 – Machame gate (1811 m) to Machame Hut (3021 m).

Day 2 – Machame Hut (3021 m) to Shira Camp (3839 m)

 

5 comments

Leave a Reply

