Day 5: Karanga Camp (4034 m) to Barafu Camp (4662 m).

Today is when the challenge starts and I am so scared I have no words. I don’t know what I am exactly fearing but I am extremely nervous. I’m sure it’s mostly myself who I don’t want to disappoint. My friends will still be my friends, my amazing colleagues will still be amazing and my parents will keep loving me as much even if I had given up on day one.

This morning I didn’t feel 100% and I got terrified. It was mostly my stomach and probably due to either nerves or something I ate, but I panicked. It is such a strange feeling having been here before but having no memory or the memories I had, had nothing to do with the reality.

The day all in all was very easy if not for the altitude. Walking along with other groups really helps me keep a slow pace and I really love it as I don’t struggle with the breathing and I feel I can enjoy the experience at the same time.

My apetite is mostly gone, which is really strange in me, and I am very picky with what I feel like eating. So today in the menu it was boiled pasta for lunch and boiled potatoes for dinner. It feels like the best food on earth right now.

Even though I feel fine I cannot help but feel scared about tonight. It is snowing here in Barafu but I managed to walk around a bit. I saw the beginning of the trail to the summit and I felt nauseous. It is really a mind over body from now on and I have huge problems putting behind all what happened.

The plan is to leave at 23.30 tonight aiming at being at Stella Point by sunset (at 6.30 am). Stella Point is the top point of the crater rim coming from the Machame route. From there, it is around 45 minutes flat walking along the crater rim until you reach Uhuru Peak, Kilimanjaro’s highest point and the official summit.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

CONTINUE READING: Summit day: Barafu Camp (4662 m) – Uhuru Peak (5895 m) – Millenium Camp (3797 m).

OR READ FROM THE BEGINNING:

Day 1 – Machame gate (1811 m) to Machame Hut (3021 m).

Day 2 – Machame Hut (3021 m) to Shira Camp (3839 m)

Day 3: Shira Camp (3839 m) – Lava Tower (4627 m) – Barranco Huts (3986 m).

Day 4: Barranco Huts (3986m) to Karanga Camp (4034 m).

Day 5: Karanga Camp (4034 m) to Barafu Camp (4662 m).

5 comments

Leave a Reply

